see all of our courses...

RYA VHF Radio Short Range Course

Course Fee

£110

Additional examination fee of £60 payable to the RYA on the day of the course.

Note

There is a lot to learn on this one day course, so it is essential students read and familiarise themselves with the RYA VHF Handbook by Tim Bartlett that officially supports the course and is included in the course fee, this will be sent to students on full payment of the course.

Course Dates (2017)

Duration: 1 day.

  • Sunday, 22nd January
  • Sunday, 26th February
  • Sunday, 26th March
  • Sunday, 23rd April
  • Sunday, 28th May
  • Sunday, 18th June
  • Sunday, 23rd July
  • Sunday, 27th August
  • Sunday, 24th September
  • Sunday, 22nd October

The Short Range Certificate (SRC) is the radio operator qualification which authorises the holder to operate a VHF Radiotelephone, fitted with Digital Selective Calling (DSC) onboard any British vessel which is voluntarily fitted with radio equipment

This one day course will teach you voice procedures for VHF radio and the use of DSC using simulators, followed by an a short written test and voice procedure examination with an independent VHF Radio examiner.

This standard qualification for the operation of equipment using procedures and techniques also covers GMDSS fit equipment such as Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacons (EPIRB) and Search and Rescue Transponders (SART) as part of the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS).

Testimonial

"I would certainly recommend your VHF Course to others - well run and informative. It is appropriate to people with a wide range of experiences. Continued Professional Development is always good as things change, or we forget or never knew." – Francis Douglas, February 26th, 2017